BROOKHAVEN NATIONAL LABORATORY RETIRED EMPLOYEES ASSOCIATION

MINUTES OF MONTHLY MEETING - December 11, 2007

ATTENDANCE: Elliot Auerbach, Graham Campbell, Dave Cox, Eena-Mai Franz, Harriet Martin, Florence O'Brien, Arnie Peskin, Frances Scheffel, Myron Strongin

President Myron Strongin opened the meeting by calling on Harriet Martin to read the minutes of the November 13th meeting. The minutes were accepted as read. Elliot Auerbach was then recognized. He distributed a paper containing the formula by which he developed a table to indicate the Social Security Cost of Living Adjustments (CoLA) from January 2000 to January 2008, as it affects the table he previously published in the Newsletter.

Hopefully, Eliot's "CoLA" formula sample will appear in our next Newsletter, along with the Monthly Meeting Dates for 2008, which Ken Mohring, Treasurer, sent to those of us who have computers and E-Mail addresses on file with BREA.

Steven Stern will be here on January 17th at noon, at the Hamilton Lecture Hall in the Chemistry Building. Myron reminded us all of this event and urged our attendance. Graham Campbell, in his capacity of Chair of the Nominating Committee, then presented the slate of BREA Officers for 2008. They are Arnold Peskin, for President; Robert Marr, for Vice-President; Dave Cox, for Secretary; Ken Mohring for Treasurer. There is no contest among the nominees, and it is hoped that the ballots will be returned marked along with members' dues. Unmarked ballots will be counted as a "No" vote! Graham said that he expected the new slate to reorganize BREA so as to be both more effective and affective! All members will have received the Newsletter by the next meeting which will take place on January 8, at noon, in Berkner Hall,

Room "D". All ballots and dues must be received by January 8, 2008. This year there is a choice of the amount of dues members may pay. Ninety-five dollars will cover a lifetime membership. Forty dollars will cover five years, and ten dollars will remain the fee for those who wish to pay annually.

The meeting was adjourned at 1 PM.

Respectfully submitted by Harriet Martin.